Aussie Highlights at

race to the sun
March 5th - 12th 2017

Race website here    Main Twitter here          

Past Aussie highlights

Mar 11th 2017- Richie Porte wins Queen stage
Mar 10th 2017-  Richie Porte 3rd in stage

Mar 13th 2016- Ritchie Porte 3rd last Stage

 & finishes 3rd on GC
      Michael Matthews wins Green Jersey
Mar 11th 2016- Michael Matthews 3rd in stage
wore leaders jersey for 5 days
Mar 8th 2016- Michael Matthews wins stage
after Bouhanni relegated in sprint
Mar 6th 2016- Michael Matthews wins prologue

15th Mar 2015- Richie Porte wins final TT stage
& claims overall GC
Michael Matthews green points classification
13th Mar 2015- Michael Matthews 3rd in stage
12th Mar 2015- Richie Porte wins queens stage
11th Mar 2015- Michael Matthews wins stage
& takes over Leaders jersey
10th Mar 2015- Michael Matthews 4th in stage
9th Mar 2015-
Heinrich Haussler 4th in stage
8th Mar 2015- Rohan Dennis 2nd in prologue

12th Mar 2014- Michael Matthews 4th in stage

11th Mar 2014- Matthew Goss 2nd in stage

10th Mar 2013-
Richie Porte wins stage &
becomes first Aussie to win on GC
8th Mar 2013- Richie Porte wins stage
 and takes over GC lead jersey
5th Mar 2013  -Leigh  Howard 3rd on stage
in a chaotic stage finale

9th Mar 2012  -Heinrich Haussler 3rd in stage
                                 led home main field 
6th Mar 2012 - Simon Gerrans 2nd on stage

13th Mar 2011- Heinrich Haussler wins points jersey
11 Mar 2011Richie Porte 3rd in stage 6 ITT
8th Mar 2011Matthew Goss wins stage
                     and takes over GC lead jersey
          Heinrich Haussler 2nd & leads green jersey after chaotic crash ridden stage finish
7th Mar 2011Matthew Goss 2nd stage
6th Mar 2011Heinrich Haussler 3rd in stage 1

13th Mar 2009- Cadel Evans 4th stage 
9th Mar 2009- Heinrich Haussler wins stage
Mark Renshaw finishes 2nd

13th Mar 2008- Cadel Evans wins stage
up Mont Ventoux 
9th Mar 2008- Bradley McGee 4th in prologue ITT

18th Mar 2007- Cadel Evans 7th on GC
12th Mar 2007- Mathew Hayman 3rd in stage 1

9th Mar 2006 - Allan Davis finished 2nd in stage 
For the third time in four days Allan Davis outsprinted by World champ Tom Boonen
7th Mar 2006- Allan Davis finished 2nd in stage 
                     repeat of previous stage bunch sprint
6th mar 2006- Allan Davis finished 2nd stage 
                  behind Tom Boonen in peloton sprint
5th Mar 2006- Bradley McGee 3rd in Prologue ITT
12th Mar 2005- Aaron Kemps 3rd in stage
11th Mar 2005- Cadel Evans 2nd in stage 

14th Mar 2004- Michael Rogers finishes 8th on GC

10th Mar 2003- Robbie McEwen 2nd in stage 1
         Stuart O'Grady 3rd now in leader's jersey
9th Mar 2003- Stuart O'Grady 4th in Prologue

17th Mar 2002- Robbie McEwen wins final stage
                       Baden Cooke finished 3rd
                     Robbie McEwen 3rd in points
                Cadel Evans finished 2nd Young rider
16th Mar 2002- Cadel Evans 2nd in stage up Col d'Eze
12th Mar 2002- Robbie McEwen wins stage 
            edged out Italian Petacchi on the line
11th Mar 2002- Robbie McEwen 3rd in stage 1

18th Mar 2001- Stuart O'Grady 2nd in final stage
              & finished 4th in Points classification
12th Mar 2001- Stuart O'Grady 2nd in Stage 1

12th Mar 2000-Stuart O'Grady 4th in final stage
10th Mar 2000- Bradley McGee 5th in stage 
                in a bunch sprint on a hilly stage
6th Mar 2000- Stuart O'Grady 3rd in stage 

12th Mar 1999- Henk Vogels 4th on Stage ,
11th Mar 1999- Stuart O'Grady has terrible day                     in mountains and relinquishes leaders jersey
10th Mar 1999- Stuart O'Grady in leaders Jersey
                 after intermediate bonus sprints
 9th Mar 1999- Henk Vogels 3rd in stage

7th Mar 1999- Stuart O'Grady 2nd in opening ITT
15th Mar 1998- Jay Sweet 3rd in final stage in Nice
10th Mar 1998- Stuart O'Grady 3rd on Stage

13th Mar 1997- Scott Sunderland leads field home in 5th in Stage, behind a 4 man break

16th Mar 1996- Patrick Jonker helps team-mate          Frechman Laurent Jalabert win overall

17th Mar 1992- Phil Anderson 3rd on stage 8

9th Mar 1985- Phil Anderson 3rd in Stage 6

3rd Mar 1985- Allan Peiper wins Prologue TT

17th Mar 1981- Phil Anderson wins stage 
       La Seyne sur Mer - Mandelieu La Napoule