Jayco Herald Sun Tour


Feb1st-5th 2017
64th instalment of Victoria's oldest stage race

Website here
Twitter feed

 Past Winners...............

2017-  Feb 5th- Damien Howson
won Falls Creek stage
Ben Hill won KOM

2016- Feb 7th - Chris Froome (GBR)
Benjamin Hill won Sprint jersey
Damien Howson 3rd on GC
Chris Hamilton best  young rider

Feb 8th- Cameron Meyer
(2nd on final Arthurs seat stage)
(won stage 1 and held GC leed  to end

Feb 9th- Simon Clarke

(final stage up Arthurs Seat was cancelled
due to adverse weather conditions.
with the potential of fire)

2013- Jan 6th- 20yr old Calvin Watson becomes youngest ever winner of Sun Tour,

2012- not conducted

2011 Oct 16th - Nathan Haas
               unforgettable Arthur’s Seat stage

2010- not conducted due to World Championships in Geelong
2009- Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain) 

2008 Oct 18th - Stuart O'Grady

2007 Oct 21st - Matthew Wilson

2006 Oct 14th - Simon Gerrans
 first in more than 30 years to win consecutive Tours

2005 Oct 15th- Simon Gerrans

2004- Jonas Ljungblad (Sweden)
2003- Tim Johnson (USA)

2002 Oct 27th - Baden Cooke
   first Aussie winner since 1986

2001-  Peter Wrolich (Aut)
2000- Eugen Wacker (Kyrgyzstan)
1999 Michael Blaudzun (Denmark)
1998 Alessandro Pozzi (Italy)
1997 Norman Alvis (USA)
1996 Scott Moninger (USA)
1995 Andy Bishop (USA)
1994 Christian Henn (Germany)
1993 David Mann (England)
1992 Bart Bowen (USA)
1991 Mike Engleman (USA)
1990 Udo Bolts (Germany)
1989 Marcel Arntz (Netherlands)
1988 Adrie V. Der Poel (Netherlands)
1987 Oct 25th- Stefano Tomasini (Italy)
(first Italian to win the Tour, Neil Stephens lost by 36sec)

1986 oct 26th- Neil Stephens
won beating Team mate & not so happy pre race favorite Allan Peiper

1985 Malcolm Elliott (England)
  first International to win

1984 Oct 28th- Gary Sutton
in his first Sun Tour,
lead from stage 3 of 9 stage tour

1983 oct 23rd- Shane Sutton
 24 year old became first NSW rider to win since 1969

1982- Terry Hammond
25 year old won his 2nd Sun tour

1981 oct 25th- Clyde Sefton
28 year old former olympic games silver medalist

1980- Oct 26th- David Allan

1979- 28th Oct John Trevorrow
                becomes only 3rd 3x winner

1978Oct 29- Terry Hammond
21 yearold won by 1min 20sec over Clyde Sefton   

1977- 23rd Oct- John Trevorrow

1976- 24th oct- Peter Besanko 

1975- 26th Oct- John Trevorrow

1974- 27th Oct- Graham McVilly
                        his 3rd Sun Tour
1973- 28th Oct- Graham McVilly

1972- 29th Oct- Ken Evans

1971- Oct 24th- Graham  ‘Macca’ McVilly
23 year old finished 2nd in Sun tour in 1969 & 1970

1970- Oct 25th- Trevor Williamson

1969- 19th Oct- Keith Oliver

1968- Oct 13th- Barry Waddell
1967- 22nd Oct- Barry Waddell
1966- 23rd Oct- Barry Waddell
1965- 24th oct- Barry Waddell
1964- 25th oct- Barry Waddell

Barry Waddell dominated the tour from 1964 – 68,
first rider to wear leaders jersey from stage 1 to end. Won 43 out of a possible 91 stages.
In the 1965 tour, he won 14 out of the 18 stages,
 crashed in two and was beaten in a disputed finish in the other two.

1963- 20th oct- Bill Lawrie
1962- oct 28th- Bill Knevitt
31 year old won 4 stages
put an end to Panton and youngs chance of a 3rd title

1961- oct 22nd- John Young
      (his 2nd sun Tour)

1960- 23rd Oct- Peter Panton
  (first rider to win 2 Tours)

1959- Oct 11th- Peter Panton

1958- oct 12th- John Young
      21 year old won by 9 sec over Panton

1957- oct 14th- Russell Mockridge
only handicapped Tour in history of event

1956- 23rd sept- 32year old George Goodwin

1955- Oct 23rd - Alan Geddes
        24-year-old won by mear 11 seconds over Aussie champ Eddie Smith
Ted Harrison (rode 11 Sun Tours) was equal leader before puncturing on last stage

1954- 31st oct- Hec Sutherland
24 yr old rode last 2 days with painful knee he injured on stage 5

1953- 11th Oct- Basil Halsall

23 year old  revelled in the tough conditions over the last two days to upset the early favourite, Hec Sutherland

1952- Oct 12th- Keith Rowley
           (33 year old didn't win a stage)
 his brother Max Rowley finished 2nd
Of the 56 starters, only 18 finished the event .